Big Camera Fail

1. sane__
    Froyo Jun 25, 2017

sane__ , Jun 25, 2017 :
    I'm a first-time Oneplus user, but I'm very disappointed so far. As a photographer, I was astounded by the claims about the camera and pulled the trigger to replace my old, trusty LG G4.

Let's be clear, I'm NOT USING LG G4 as a photography tool, I do have an equipment way more suited for that kind of work. I'm just comparing the 2 phone cameras side by side.

I had the impression that Oneplus is a hardcore, nerdy (in a good sense) company, that have a very passionate audience and make awesome, quality phones at a decent price. I do not have that impression anymore.

I was shocked when I test the camera. Side by side with my two years old LG G4 the camera is an epic, epic fail! I don't know if it's the software or the sensor size, but it's a shame that a phone from 2017 with marketing claims for "Clearer Photos" doesn't have a chance to a 2015 phone, which was marketed for its leather back....

The dynamic range is a tad better on a Oneplus, but the clarity, sharpness, and details are overwhelmingly better on the LG. On Oneplus the details look like an oil painting. I don't know if this is some kind of very harsh denoising + post sharpening, but it's ugly as hell!

I've tried to look past that issue since the phone is indeed blazingly fast (way faster than the LG) but then another red flag - the Oneplus has cheated the benchmarks. I'm not a benchmark guy, but I don't like cheaters, and that made me think, what more can go wrong?

YEP, another one - the so-called "telephoto lens " is actually not 2x as marketing, but 1.6x.

"Alright, alright, it's probably some kind of misunderstanding," I thought. Then ANOTHER One - while I was playing with the phone, I've accidentally put my finger on the "telephoto" lens while the camera was 2x zoom.