Camera Samples: 1+ One vs Xiaomi Redmi 1s

1. kidrow
    Ice Cream Sandwich Dec 19, 2014

kidrow , Dec 19, 2014 :
    Hi all,

So here's some camera samples from the 1+ One & the Xiaomi Redmi 1s, :).

I'm no expert but I tried to be as consistent as possible. So,

1. All the shots are in Auto mode for both cams. Only on a few shots did I change the focus mode to Macro. But nothing else was touched.
    My OPO is running on CM 44s, not Color OS. I'd read that it can make a difference.

2. For each camera, I took anywhere between 3-5 shots & chose the one that looked the best in terms of sharpness.**
    All the shots are handheld & without the assistance of a tripod. So I did this to eliminate poor shots due to camera shake, as far as possible.

**For the 'Pistons' pics, I've included 2 shots from the OPO. Here's why-
    While the first exposure was consistent with how the OPO cam usually behaves (viz. leaning towards over-exposure), the detail (grooves) was lost (as is apparent from the 5mp crop).
    With the second one, while the image is a bit under-exposed (by OPO standards anyway), the detail (grooves) is much better retained.

3. Some shots were taken at the highest native resolutions of the respective cams - 8mp for the Redmi 1s & 13mp for the OPO. Some of the shots however, were taken at 5mp for both cams.
    The images were then resized to 5mp & 1mp. The cropped/zoomed images you see below are the 5mp images, while the others are the resized 1mp images.

4. All the images are SOOC. A photo editor was used only for the resizing/cropping.

5. I had difficulty in framing shots with the OPO. It seems to actually capture a bit more than what is framed. That is partly the reason for the dissimilarity between the 2 cams' samples vis-a-vis the framing.