0
can't see or connect to 5ghz Wi-Fi on my op6

  1. Minhajz
    Cupcake Jul 23, 2018

    Minhajz , Jul 23, 2018 :
    Hello mods, experts op6 fans op6 team


    I can't see 5ghz wifi when I search for available wifi. My galaxy s7 does and connect so does my laptop my smart TV and all other mobiles in my house.

    I have a router with both bands 2.4 and 5ghz operating normally

    I even checked it out in my ofc and it just connects to 2.4 ghz frequency.

    Anyone who has got the same issue or faced it before can throw some light on this matter
     

    #1
  2. Artemus
    Junior Moderator, Community Hero 2020 Junior Moderator Jul 23, 2018

    Artemus , Jul 23, 2018 :
    Change the 5GHz channel.
     

    #2
    Catalin_Buzescu likes this.
  3. Anandu p
    Honeycomb Jul 24, 2018

    Anandu p , Jul 24, 2018 :
    There is no option to change the channel
     

    #3
  4. saahill
    Gingerbread Jul 24, 2018

    saahill , Jul 24, 2018 :
    I'm always connected to a 5Ghz channel from my OnePlus 6. Try a system reset.
     

    #4
  5. Minhajz
    Cupcake Jul 25, 2018


    #5
  6. Minhajz
    Cupcake Jul 27, 2018


    #6
  7. Catalin_Buzescu
    Jelly Bean Jul 27, 2018

    Catalin_Buzescu , Jul 27, 2018 :
    No Oneplus employees here, dude. Only users like you and me. I had the same problem. Log onto your router and from there change 5ghz channels until it works. I myself, tried over 10 channels before getting it to work
     

    #7
  8. Minhajz
    Cupcake Jul 27, 2018

    Minhajz , Jul 27, 2018 :
    I worked it out with Channel settings as well. Not working


    My simple question. If all the other 5 mobiles can work with 5ghz.

    Why doesn't my op6 work then????
     

    #8
  9. Minhajz
    Cupcake Jul 31, 2018


    #9
  10. Gav_W86
    Moderator Moderator Jul 31, 2018

    Gav_W86 , Jul 31, 2018 :
    would say it is something to do with your router/setup as it works fine here on every 5Ghz network I have tried.

    what make/model is it?
     

    #10
  11. Krisso
    Cupcake Jul 31, 2018


    #11
  12. rahul2008d
    Donut Apr 7, 2019

    rahul2008d , Apr 7, 2019 :
    Can anyone please let me know how to connect to 5ghz channel from op 6.. very urgent. appreciate your help.
     

    #12
  13. Artemus
    Junior Moderator, Community Hero 2020 Junior Moderator Apr 7, 2019

    Artemus , Apr 7, 2019 :
    What's wrong with 2.4? 5 is faster, sure, but it has a smaller range compared to 2.4 and is meant for higher-end devices like PCs and shizz.
     

    #13
    drl431 likes this.
  14. rahul2008d
    Donut Apr 7, 2019

    rahul2008d , Apr 7, 2019 :
    getting as low as 30mb/s speed despite having 100mb/s connection.. please help. is it not possible to switch between channels according to the need.
     

    #14
  15. Artemus
    Junior Moderator, Community Hero 2020 Junior Moderator Apr 7, 2019

    Artemus , Apr 7, 2019 :
    What're you downloading that you need more than that?!
     

    #15
  16. rahul2008d
    Donut Apr 7, 2019

    rahul2008d , Apr 7, 2019 :
    Please reply only if you have the answer.. Don't spam.
     

    #16
  17. Artemus
    Junior Moderator, Community Hero 2020 Junior Moderator Apr 7, 2019

    Artemus , Apr 7, 2019 :
    [​IMG]
     

    #17
    Neddard and pgrey like this.
  18. pgrey
    Ice Cream Sandwich Apr 7, 2019

    pgrey , Apr 7, 2019 :
    Yeah, @rahul2008d it's almost certainly the band you're on, what do the other devices say it is, the ones that can connect?
    Why is it not switch-able, do you not have access to the router? Some of the DFS channels can be an issue, depending on the router channel/band, and your country's regulations.

    I'm with @Kytharsis here though, if you're getting 30, that's pretty good for most practical applications. Sure, it's awesome to see your wireless pulling 500, or whatever, but unless you're downloading a steady stream of 4k movies to watch later, 30 is going to get most stuff done, and done fast.
     

    #18
    Artemus likes this.
  19. nazmulhaque097
    Cupcake May 6, 2019

    nazmulhaque097 , May 6, 2019 :
    i have been using this phone almost a year now and i have just been thinking that maybe in the next update this 5ghz problem will be fixed or it will be fixed in the next update but i have had 6 or 7 updates since we bought this phone but this 5ghz problem was never fixed in one whole year by any of the previous updates so now i am really frustrated and starting to lose interest of Oneplus as a top class brand
     

    #19
  20. Artemus
    Junior Moderator, Community Hero 2020 Junior Moderator May 6, 2019

    Artemus , May 6, 2019 :
    Read my post above.
     

    #20