CPU governors and battery saving mode

1. mokky123
    Eclair Nov 25, 2014

mokky123 , Nov 25, 2014 :
    (okay first and foremost, im a noob. so dun get upset with me and i have searched the forum before creating this thread)

Im using a oneplus one, as u know, this phone by default is using cyanogen mod. which has the options to switch to power saving mode,balanced, and performance and change cpu governors. what i would like to know is:

1) By changing to battery saving mode (automatically, the min proccesor will be set to 300 and max 1024) Is it okay for me to still turn on battery saving while im playing demanding games? like some online rpgs. or other games like Hayday. I have been using this mode for a couple of days, tested it, yes, lag a bit while playing these games. Will i damage my cpu, ultimately, my phone? i even still use power saving while playing modern combat 4, and, no lag -.-

2) Can i simply change my cpu governors? and the min and max clockspeed at will. (at least not setting at the extreme low or high) I mean, if we will severely, or mildly damage the phone by doing all these changes, why were they there at the first place? the developer would ban them right? @@

3) Will i damage my phone too if i force restart/reboot my device? when my device freezes. these 2 days i have had 3 freezes already after installing boom beach and CoC. weird, uninstalled it. but am curious to know whether force restarting will hurt my device.

Thanks in advance, and sry if i upset-ed u ><

Last edited: Nov 26, 2014

ronoldo likes this.
  2. aakashjhaveri
    Lollipop Nov 25, 2014

ronoldo likes this.
  3. stevenching
    Honeycomb Nov 25, 2014

stevenching , Nov 25, 2014 :
    Changing to a lower frequency and playing high demanding games wouldn't damage your CPU in any way. But I personally do think that the application 'might' crash due to the unresponsiveness.