Fix to Prevent OOS from Murdering Background Apps. (ROOT)

1. Praty_28
    Jelly Bean Nov 25, 2019

Praty_28 , Nov 25, 2019 :
    This Fix is not just for 3/3T but for all devices running Oxygen OS. The only caveat is that you require root for this to work.

The problem
    OOS is widely known to kill background apps, even those whitelisted under the battery optimization list. It has been reported time and again on this forums as well as multiple other online platforms but oneplus has always turned a blind eye towards this issue. Just to squeeze a few extra minutes of battery life its not worth missing on important reminders, alerts and notifications.

I've been using my oneplus 3T for around 3 years now and i have missed on countless important whatsapp message and emails. It's a shame that for oneplus to acknowledge this bug it took more than 3 full years. In the recent open ear forums, the issue was raised and they finally have decided to do something about it. Only time will tell whether it will actually be implemented or not.

Fix 1
    Root/ADB Needed.
    This is not created by me and i am linking the XDA thread from which i found the fix. My sole purpose of posting this here is because the fix is buried deep down in the search results and only after so many years i managed to find it.

Steps (Temporary fix...resets to default after reboot)
    Open terminal emulator.

1) Run the code "su" (without quotes)

2) Next type the code "dumpsys deviceidle disable" (without quotes)

3) If you get the following commands then you are good to go.

Deep idle mode disabled
    Light idle mode disabled

This needs to be repeated after every reboot but I'll link a magisk module created by a fellow xda user which does it automatically on boot.

There are some more updated modules in the thread below but this one worked on my 3T running oos 9.0.4.

Magisk module - https://forum.xda-developers.com/oneplus-6t/how-to/guide-notification-fix-100-t3865551/post79049370