How to shoot stars with 5T?

1. F_Danielius_Narauskas_YX
    Eclair Dec 3, 2017

F_Danielius_Narauskas_YX , Dec 3, 2017 :
    Hey, I might doing something very wrong, but don't judge me. I want to learn how to shoot stars at night like they advertising it in this video :
    BTW, I tried for the first time and you will laugh at me what I've captured. Can anyone tell me what exactly parameters need to be set while shooting stars with OnePlus 5T?
    Yes, I'm doing something really wrong, but I'm new to this, that's why I'm asking for help.
    1512324773671.jpg

2. G_Colin_Dodds_cIwC
    Ice Cream Sandwich Dec 3, 2017

3. handheld_addict
    Honeycomb Dec 3, 2017

handheld_addict , Dec 3, 2017 :
    I think you're actually on the right track here. Was this photo taken at night?

I'm still waiting for a clear night where I am to try it with my 5T but I've taken a few starry night photos with my 3T.

Obviously, you need to go into manual/pro mode. You'll also need a tripod of course.

If I recall, I set my shutter speed to 30 seconds, and my ISO 800... all I did was some research on Google about how to set exposure for star photography, played around with manual settings. It's really fun and is one of the strengths of the OnePlus camera.

Uriyah, alogim, victorzmartin and 3 others like this.
  4. F_Danielius_Narauskas_YX
    Eclair Dec 3, 2017

Yeah, today I have clear night. I set up everything the same as that dude in the video, but I made my own 'tripod', maybe this is the problem. Share the pictures you took when you will do it. And I guess I I'm going to buy regular tripod for phone and try again. :)

alogim likes this.
  5. handheld_addict
    Honeycomb Dec 3, 2017