Please keep the old gestures on Android 10

1. Claudiu Cioloca
    Froyo Aug 4, 2019

Claudiu Cioloca , Aug 4, 2019 :
    OnePlus, please keep your already polished gestures on Android 10. Since the android 8, Google has no direction when it comes to usability and design, they are only stealing concepts from Apple and other phone manufacturers ( I'm a UI/UX designer, so I clearly see what they did here).

OnePlus gestures are way better for the long term usability. Because of the back gestures positioning, OnePlus gestures are passing Fitt's law, using the most accessible zone of the screen for navigation.

Google's new navigation otherwise, uses only the home gesture at the bottom. The back gesture doesn't make sense on the sides, since most of us are using cases and screen protectors. Also the swiping zone is to narrow and you can easily trigger the side menu on the left side. Imagine doing this 300 times a day, it's frustrating.

I know everyone wants companies to stick with stock android , but Google is now far behing. They took a loot of bad decisions without considering the user, and this started with android 9 pill button.

OnePlus should take the lead in software design and usability. I want in two years to see Google partnering with OnePlus developers in creating a better OS.

2. Sharry7
    Ice Cream Sandwich Aug 4, 2019

Sharry7 , Aug 4, 2019 :
    In this case, i fully agree with you.

Google is acting like a kid.

3. Claudiu Cioloca
    Froyo Aug 4, 2019

Claudiu Cioloca , Aug 4, 2019 :
    The went from leading design to adopting every bullshit. Teir navigation system was already made by Huawei and Xiaomi, and is not the best.

Sharry7 likes this.
  4. tide1109
    Ice Cream Sandwich Aug 5, 2019

tide1109 , Aug 5, 2019 :
    I would say that OnePlus adds the new gesture to the navigation options. The basic buttons should stay too if Google didn't remove them Android Q.
    So the user has the choice.