#PMchallenge an option for additional functionality for on screen navigation bar .

1. revanthmaddikunta Donut Feb 7, 2019

revanthmaddikunta, Feb 7, 2019 :
    Hi there

I’m Revanth a student, a tech enthusiast and a happy one plus user. I have been using one plus since past 2 years and have been very happy with the performance.

My idea for a feature is about for people like me who have small hands and also for people who don’t prefer using buttons present on the phone very often

I personally use a one plus 5T and I’m very much happy with the on-screen navigation bar feature my idea is to upgrade that on-screen navigation bar.

Inspiration of idea

From the above introduction, it is pretty much clear that I want more functionality from the already present onscreen navigation bar other than home, back, recents.

As a person who doesn’t like to use the buttons and with small hands, I always found it difficult to access a few features like volume settings etc.keeping in mind that there is a lot of unused are on the onscreen navigation bar.
    refer fig 1 in the image

How will it work

The idea is to add a software feature (gesture or a small option) in the corner (left or right as per the convenience of the user) of the navigation bar such that accessing simple features would be simpler like,

-Volume increase or decrease (instead of manually using the volume rockers)

- brightness control (increase or decrease)

-night mode (on/off)

-auto rotate

Etc
    refer fig 2 and fig 3 in the image

Summary

1- Who are the users?

Basically, everyone who prefers simplicity in accessing such features.

2- What is the proposed function?

Additional option or a gesture to use empty areas on the navigation bar(corners) for easy access of a few functionalities.

3- What is the User value?

Much simpler access and convenience for the user

4- Your proposed feature compared to existing features available in the market?