#PMChallenge - Automatically activate / deactivate SIM cards

1. Reudig Donut Feb 15, 2019

Reudig, Feb 15, 2019 :
    Hello Everyone!

Today I would like to introduce you to an idea that would make my work much easier. My name is Tobias and I'm a teacher in Austria.
    Staying in contact with my students and (often more important) their parents is a taxing job. For reasons you surely understand I'm not willing to give my private phone number to students or their parents. Of course there are landline phones in the school I work at, however I spend most of my time in class and calls to the land line hardly ever reach me.
    In this day and age of smart phones and constant availability parents expect teachers to be available as well. And I would like to be there for them, but not at ridiculous hours. And believe me, some parents will call you or write a text 5 minutes after you went to bed. (An exaggeration of course, but I guess you can see my point.)
    After looking far and wide for a solution to my problem I still ended up manually switching off my second SIM card everyday when going home from work - whenever I remember, that is. More often than not I don't think about turning off my work number however and so I get the "occasional" on a Sunday afternoon.

While collecting thoughts for this pitch and working out the detail as well as assembling the designs I realized that although my issue seems like one in a million, the situation can be transfered to alot of scenarios. I hope you enjoy my idea, fingers crossed that the OnePlus Devs like it as well!

Who are the users?

Basically everyone. One could think of it as automatic airplane mode, but for the SIM card only instead of the entire phone. That way everyone who is using 2 SIM cards in their phone will get a massive benefit. Being able to turn each SIM card off automatically at a predetermined daytime is the goal I want to achieve with this pitch.

What is the proposed function?