#PMChallenge - Include delete button in slide down option - SMS app

1. camohan Marshmallow Moderator Feb 4, 2019

camohan, Feb 4, 2019 :
    Hey Software team, hope you are doing good.

Today, I want to suggest a very small but IMO a very useful feature which can enhance user experience and at the same time it does not require much design changes. I am not an expert though on design implementation.

To start with lets answer some of the questions

Who are the users?
    This feature can be added in any of the OnePlus device. So this is not device specific.

What is the proposed function?
    The proposed function is to get rid of spam or unwanted sms immediately.

What is the user value?
    The value addition this function or feature can provide is enable user to keep the message inbox clean.

If there are existing comparable functions in the smartphone industry, how is your proposed feature superior?
    I have not seen it before, I may be wrong though as I have been using OnePlus phones from 4 years. However, I have seen this in custom roms.

Be sure to:
    -Explain the logic behind this product and how you want it to be implemented
    In present times, the influx of spam calls and spam messages have increased manifold. I can speak from India perspective. In order to explain why this feature is important, let me give an example.

I was looking for a new house and I had registered my phone number at various online websites. Now my requirement of house is fulfilled but I still get atleast 3 to 5 sms daily for offers on new house. Moreover, some agencies sell phone numbers to other companies which increase the spam manifold.

With this new proposed feature, I can read the message by sliding down the notification shade and decide if I want to keep it or delete. Immediate delete button will enable the user to delete the sms instantly thereby getting rid of the spam.