#PMChallenge - OxygenOS New Multitasking View [English]

1. ZephyrITA Froyo Feb 5, 2019

ZephyrITA, Feb 5, 2019 :
    First of all, I would like to thank OnePlus for giving users so much relevance, listening our criticism and desire about adding new doable functions to OxygenOS in order to at the same time make us happy and improve their operating system.

I introduce myself, my name is Fabio (@FlareZephyr on Twitter) and I have been an happy owner of OnePlus 5 for almost 2 years now. I'm a second-year student in Information Engineering in Padua, Italy, but even though I'm studying science subjects, I've always been a graphics enthusiast. (My english is not the best, I hope you can understand).

After receiving the new update of OxygenOS that brings Android Pie on my OnePlus 5 I saw so many updates made to the GUI and UX. I am very satisfied with this version and the changes made but, as regards multitasking, the new layout makes everything slower and more intricate than before.

With the previous versions of Android the applications forms’ scrolling in multitasking happened vertically. This means that, even for the shape that the phones usually have, there was much more space to see which applications were open, and, consequently, the number of applications displayed was higher.

The transition from one application to another was very fast, since the application form (already opened in multitasking) was immediately identified.
    [​IMG]

With Android Pie what described above changed, the scrolling of the application forms no longer occurs vertically but horizontally, and each form occupies almost the entire functional area of the screen.
    [​IMG]

Comparing last version with the previous one, if on the one hand this allows us to have an overall view of the application and is therefore graphically more pleasant, on the other hand it limits the speed in looking for the form of applications already open.