Network/Connectivity secondary dns forced to 8.8.8.8

1. koma85
    Donut Feb 13, 2019

koma85 , Feb 13, 2019 :
    Hi,
    I've noticed that if the dhcp does not provide a secondary DNS is automatically pushed the 8.8.8.8 by google.

This is unacceptable.
    First if in a network you need to resolve internal addresses it won't work
    Secondary in many network the 53 is closed in outbound so your phone will be slower.

Third (but not last) really?!?
    Do not touch network settings pushed by an admin. It could became a REALLY a security problem.
    In many corporation I work for (I'm a consultant so i need to change network/workplace often) manually changing the network settings is a security threat and it can be persecuted.

Do us a favor and spare a security/legal affair and fix this thing ASAP.

Sandahl84, kfahoo, mind_never and 4 others like this.
  2. F0RCE
    Cupcake Mar 9, 2019

F0RCE , Mar 9, 2019 :
    Please fix this! I have just installed pihole and the only device, which is not working 100% correctly, is my 6T and after some research it looks like a 2nd DNS is forced to 8.8.8.8

Daniel_2 likes this.
  3. DenyDarko
    Honeycomb Mar 9, 2019

DenyDarko , Mar 9, 2019 :
    Omg. Jesus christ you're right.

What the actual fu** is this total violation of user privacy?

I don't know where you live but this is not legal under EU rules.
    1552126257942.jpg

Seriously now?

It needs root and afwall app but it'll do the job just fine if you put the following under afwall's custom scripts:

$IPTABLES -A OUTPUT -d 8.8.8.8 -j DROP
    $IPTABLES -A OUTPUT -d 8.8.4.4 -j DROP

Last edited: Mar 9, 2019

onepang and Daniel_2 like this.
  4. SirJMD
    Eclair Mar 9, 2019

5. Q1553000027140
    Cupcake Mar 19, 2019

Q1553000027140 , Mar 19, 2019 :
    Same here. You ruined all my network configuration.

Moreover, this is a privacy violation disclosing every hostname to resolve to Google.

Please revert immediately.

onepang, niabot and Daniel_2 like this.