Secret diary of a OnePlus employee | Part 9: What we can learn from India

1. Will T. European PR Manager Staff Member Mar 22, 2019

Will T., Mar 22, 2019 :
    WeeklyUpdate-Forum (3).png

Hello OnePlus community, my name is Will and I’m a European Communications Manager here in London. I say here in London, but right now I’m actually sitting on a British Airways 787 in seat 40D, somewhere over Iran.

We’ve just been served a passable in-flight biryani, I’ve finished a mini plane-sized bottle of red wine, which means it’s time to be a business traveller and write this blog from a cramped economy class seat.

For the last few days, the team and I have been in India to learn how and why OnePlus has become the number one premium smartphone brand there, by launching consistently great smartphones for the last 5 years. For most of us, including me, this was our first time in the country – here’s what we learned in our time there.

1) The Taj Mahal is nuts

Not strictly a business learning, but look...

Taj.jpg

2) India has OnePlus Stores!

Here in Europe, you can try out a OnePlus device in all of our great partners’ stores. Places like EE, Elisa, and FNAC all have the latest OnePlus device on display to try out. In India, it’s a little different. We have our own Experience Stores with accessories, repairs and even a coffee bar! The team there aim to turn around repairs in under an hour, it’s a whole new level of service at the kind of speed we expect at OnePlus.

Stores.jpg

3) Trust in Delhi drivers

You may think that traffic in Delhi is dangerous, but when crossing six lanes of moving Delhi traffic you have to trust in the driver. Given 90% of cars are at least slightly dented it's easy to be worried, but people react to things with a OnePlus UX level of speed and efficiency. After minutes of waiting for a break that never comes, I step out into the road, as I walk into traffic, cars, and bikes pass around me like I’m nothing.