Secret diary of a OnePlus employee | The Finnish line

1. JulieBN
    EU PR manager Staff Member Feb 27, 2021

JulieBN , Feb 27, 2021 :
    222.png

Hi there!

IMG_20210219_144640.jpg

My name is Julie and I’m a PR manager here at OnePlus. I joined OnePlus last September and moved from France to Finland the following month. Unfortunately, I don’t really have fun photos to share about life in the office or any pop-up events, and I’m sure you can guess the reason why. Yup, I started a new job and moved to another country in the middle of a pandemic, and it’s been quite a ride. Let me take you with me for a spin!

I officially moved to Helsinki at the beginning of October, right at the time we were launching the OnePlus 8T. It was a pretty intense onboarding, launching a new phone and settling down in a new country at the same time! I remember right before our keynote, having to balance my days between meetings with journalists and apartment visits. But in the end, the launch was a success, and I got a really nice place in the center of Helsinki (that I would end up spending way more time in, thanks to covid19).

To be honest, compared to the lockdowns and curfews we have had in my home country, we have been quite lucky up north. From October until Christmas, our office was still open and life was still (almost) normal. I got to discover Finland’s biggest secret: the Finns’ love for karaoke. I mean, I’ve been to 5 or 6 karaokes since I’ve been here. We even went there to celebrate @Tuomas L. ’ birthday last November.

tmp_1614353152120.jpg

Since January however, we are all staying at home and zoom has become our main link to one another. It still allows for nice bonding moments between us, like the team gatherings we had to celebrate Chinese New Year a couple of weeks ago.

EU Chinese New Year Friday 12th Feb 2021.png

Although I miss the office and my colleagues, working remotely can also be nice at times:
    IMG_20210219_152415.jpg