OxygenOS Unable to Boot after OOS 5.0.1 OTA - PLEASE HELP

1. DashIt Donut Jan 12, 2018

DashIt, Jan 12, 2018 :
    Last night I got the OTA update notification and updated to OxygenOS 5.0.1 before I went to bed. I woke up today with a non-functional phone. After booting, all I get is a black screen and a message saying "system UI has stopped." It then attempts to reboot and fails, eventually booting into the recovery.

I am on the stock recovery, no root, no unlocked bootloader, but I do have ADB debugging enabled.

I have never experimented with custom ROMs so I am not very experienced with using the recovery, but I do have some idea what I am doing. Is there any way for me to fix the issue without loosing all my files? Will I be fine simply flashing 5.0.1 again from recovery?

Thanks in advance.

Edit: I now know with almost certainty it was my (rootless) Substratum theme causing the issue (*facepalm*). If you make sure to remove your themes before you update you won't have this issue. If you did the same thing as me, just use the 'Reset system setting' option in the stock recovery. You will lose your apps but not your files.

Last edited: Jan 13, 2018

2. ncardell Cupcake Jan 12, 2018

ncardell, Jan 12, 2018 :
    I am having the same problem. I accepted the update notification and then my phone kept crashing and rebooting 5 seconds after it booted into the OS. I tried deleting cache and restoring to factory settings and nothing works.
    I even tried redownloading the latest ROM and installing it with ADB sideload and it keeps crashing. Older ROMs are failing to install with adb sideload.

The latest update essentially bricked my phone and I have tried so many things and nothing fixes it!!

3. francybenati Honeycomb Jan 12, 2018

4. DashIt Donut Jan 12, 2018

5. Hydra Bob Lollipop Jan 12, 2018

Hydra Bob, Jan 12, 2018 :