Upgrade via OnePlus 6

1. Ipirovani
    Cupcake Apr 20, 2021

Ipirovani , via OnePlus 6 , Apr 20, 2021 :
    Hi guys,

I would like to change my phone this year, I've been using my oneplus 6 since 2018.
    I must say that I do not have problems with this one, it was the best android phone I've ever had.
    My question is, if you guys had to choose between Oneplus 8 pro and Oneplus 9 ( not pro version), which one would you choose? And why?

2. drl431
    Community Hero 2020 Apr 20, 2021

drl431 , Apr 20, 2021 :
    Hi, that's a tough call...

The OP9 will have 1 more year of support, faster wired charging, and Hasselblad camera tuning.

The OP8pro has OIS on main camera, faster wireless charging, and has a slightly larger curved screen.

Ipirovani and McJader like this.
  3. Arjun_Choudhry
    KitKat Apr 20, 2021

Arjun_Choudhry , Apr 20, 2021 :
    Tbh, neither. I'd suggest you to take a look at the Mi11 or the S21/+ (after discount, ofcourse). This is from a long-term OnePlus user (have bought the latest series every year since the OnePlus 2). I have the 8 Pro, and the display issues are a deal-breaker for me. The 9 is mostly a regression over the 8 Pro, so not worth the price either

4. McJader
    Lollipop Apr 20, 2021

McJader , Apr 20, 2021 :
    In addition to what @drl431 said, the ultrawide sensor on the 9 is supposed to be quite good.

Ipirovani, drl431 and Arjun_Choudhry like this.
  5. Arjun_Choudhry
    KitKat Apr 20, 2021

A worse main camera, no telephoto camera for a better ultra-wide camera? 🤔
    I disagree slightly there (the farther minimum focus distance for macro on the 9 also plays a part here)

6. McJader
    Lollipop Apr 20, 2021

McJader , Apr 20, 2021 :
    I didn't tell him to go for either of them;)
    Just pointed out a pro of the 9.
    I completely agree with your post tho.

Ipirovani and Arjun_Choudhry like this.
  7. Arjun_Choudhry
    KitKat Apr 20, 2021