Whatsapp backup from iPhone to android and merge with old backup

1. masai
    Cupcake Nov 27, 2017

masai , Nov 27, 2017 :
    Hi everyone,
    just got my OnePlus 5T in the mail today.

I've been using an iphone for the passed 5 months, before I had the OnePlus One.
    I would like to extract my whatsapp chat backup from the iphone, merge it with the old android backup that I have (it's been through 3 different android devices, last one OnePlusOne with no problems.)

I've always transferred the whatsapp folder from an old android to the new one with no problems, but this time I don't know how to extract the iphone chat or if it even possible to merge it to the android one.
    Looking for your help, thanks.

2. Rizla
    Jelly Bean Nov 27, 2017

Rizla , Nov 27, 2017 :
    Can't you just restore the backup when you setup WhatsApp on the new phone?

3. masai
    Cupcake Nov 27, 2017

masai , Nov 27, 2017 :
    I can, but I'm not sure which one it will pick up. I have one on iCloud with only the passed 5 months and one on Google Drive which has messages from 2010 till 5 months ago.

I think I've always transferred the chat manually on the old androids I had, so I'm not sure how the new Whatsapp cloud backup works

4. GuitarHero0179
    Jelly Bean Nov 27, 2017

GuitarHero0179 , Nov 27, 2017 :
    You can't restore an iCloud backup to an android device to my knowledge. There are some apps to do it but it's tricky from what I've seen. I'm not sure if your old backup from the one is still intact either since Google has an deletion policy for inactive devices

5. masai
    Cupcake Nov 27, 2017

masai , Nov 27, 2017 :
    I don’t think they are going to delete my data after only 5 months. Also my OnePlus One is still active and still going strong, I’m just not using it as a main phone because the screen broke and I can’t type fully.